Board of Trustees

Library trustees are residents of the Plainfield Public Library District who are elected to serve four-year terms of office. Trustees serve without compensation and are the official policy-making body of the Library. Get in touch with our Board anytime by sending an email to:

Carl F. Gilmore

Board President

Committees: serves on all committees as ex-officio

Election Year: 2012

Current Term Expires: 2023

Plainfield Public Library District Trust Lisa Schmidt

Lisa Schmidt

Board Vice President

Committees: Buildings & Grounds (Chair), Finance

Election Year: 2015

Current Term Expires: 2025

Plainfield Public Library District Trustee Vicki Knight

Vicki M. Knight

Board Secretary

Committees: Buildings & Grounds, Personnel

Election Year: 2013

Current Term Expires: 2025

Erika Grotto

Board Treasurer

Committees: Finance (Chair)

Election Year: 2020

Current Term Expires: 2025

Jason Cann


Committees: Buildings & Grounds

Election Year: 2019

Current Term Expires: 2023

Alicia Malec


Committees: Personnel (Chair)

Election Year: 2020

Current Term Expires: 2023

David McMurtrie


Committees: Finance

Election Year: 2021

Current Term Expires: 2025

Sharon D. Kinley

Trustee Emerita

Years of Service: 2001 to 2019

Board President: 2005 to 2015

Dr. Pat L. Miller

Trustee Emerita

Years of Service: 2003 to 2020

Board Vice-President: 2009 to 2012

Board Treasurer: 2015 to 2020



The Board of Trustees generally meets on the third Wednesday of each month at 6:30 p.m. in the Small Meeting Room located on the upper level of the Library. For a list of meetings for FY2022 (July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2022), please open the FY2022 meetings document. 

The public is encouraged to attend these meetings. Anyone who would like to address the Board during the Public Comment portion of a regular board meeting may sign in on the sign-in sheet provided. Each member of the public shall have a maximum of five (5) minutes to address the Board. A maximum of thirty minutes per regular Board meeting is allotted to Public Comment. The Board will not enter into two-way communication with members of the public and will take public comments under advisement.

Meeting agendas and minutes, as well as other public documents, can be found in the Transparency Dashboard.